Governance

Our Mission
The Georgia Veterinary Medical Association is committed to advancing the veterinary medical profession and supporting the veterinarian’s role in improving animal and public health.

Vision – GVMA is the leading authority promoting veterinary medicine in GA.

Strategic Goals – All actions of the GVMA in the coming years will focus on achieving one or more of these strategic goals. The GVMA will:

  • Be the voice of the veterinary medical profession in legislative matters.
  • Be the driving force for promoting the image and importance of the veterinary medical profession.
  • Continue its growth through membership recruitment and retention programs, and by offering benefits and services relevant to members’ needs.
  • Be the model of governance, management, and motivation in the U.S. among state veterinary associations.

Core Values – In conducting the business of GVMA, the governance and management will be guided by these principles:

  • Professionalism
  • Commitment
  • Integrity
  • Service
  • Progressive thinking
  • Compassion
  • Stewardship
  • Transparency
  • Inclusivity
Find Your District

as approved by a Bylaws change in 2013

District 1

Appling, Brantley, Bryan, Bulloch, Burke, Camden, Candler, Chatham, Effingham, Emanuel, Evans, Glynn, Jenkins, Liberty, Long, McIntosh, Montgomery, Screven, Tatnall, Toombs, Treutlan, Wayne, Wheeler

District 2

Atkinson, Bacon, Baker, Ben Hill, Berrien, Brooks, Calhoun, Charlton, Clay, Clinch, Coffee, Crisp, Colquitt, Cook, Daugherty, Decatur, Dodge, Early, Echols, Grady, Irwin, Jeff Davis, Lanier, Lee, Lowndes, Miller, Mitchell, Pierce, Quitman, Randolph, Seminole, Telfair, Terrell, Thomas, Tift, Turner, Ware, Wilcox, Worth

District 3

Bleckley, Chattahoochee, Crawford, Dooly, Harris, Houston, Lamar, Macon, Marion, Meriweather, Muscogee, Peach, Pike, Pulaski, Schley, Stewart, Sumter, Talbot, Taylor, Troup, Upson, Webster

District 4

DeKalb, Newton, Rockdale

District 5

Fulton

District 6

Carroll, Clayton, Coweta, Fayette, Haralson, Heard, Henry, Polk, Spalding

District 7

Bartow, Catoosa, Chatooga, Cherokee, Dade, Dawson, Fannin, Forsyth, Floyd, Gilmer, Gordon, Lumpkin, Murray, Pickens, Union, Walker, Whitfield

District 8

Baldwin, Bibb, Butts, Glascock, Hancock, Jasper, Jefferson, Johnson, Jones, Laurens, Monroe, Morgan, Putnam, Twiggs, Washington, Wilkinson

District 9

Banks, Barrow, Franklin, Habersham, Hall, Hart, Jackson, Madison, Oconee, Rabun, Stephens, Towns, Walton, White

District 10

Athens-Clarke, Columbia, Elbert, Greene, Lincoln, McDuffie, Oglethorpe, Richmond, Taliaferro, Warren, Wilkes

District 11

Cobb, Douglas, Paulding

District 12

Gwinnett

Board of Directors

District 1

Director
Gary Edwards, DVM
Gateway Animal Hospital
9849 Highway 301 S
Statesboro, GA 30458
Work: (912) 681-7387
Fax: (912) 681-9131
Email: bigmandvm@yahoo.com

Assistant Director
Jeff Mahany, DVM
Island Veterinary Clinic
416 Johnny Mercer Blvd.
Savannah, GA 31410
Work: (912) 897-1121
Fax: (912) 351-5910
Email: jmahany1@gmail.com

District 2

Director
Franklin “Bo” Curles, DVM
Cairo Animal Hospital
1646 Highway 84 W.
Cairo, GA 39827
Work: (229) 337-1803
Fax: (229) 377-1884
Email: bcurles@southwestg

Assistant Director position is OPEN!

Contact Susan Blevins for information on applying!

District 3

Director
Caitriona Matthews
Weems Road Animal Hospital
3701 Weems Rd
Columbus, GA
Work: (706) 202-1966
Email: cmatthews3719@gmail.com

Assistant Director position is OPEN!

Contact Susan Blevins for information on applying!

District 4

Director
Hiro Iwamoto, DVM
Clairmont Animal Hospital
226 Clairmont Road NE
Decatur, GA 30030
Work: (404) 550-2546
Fax: (404) 634-9857
Email: iwamotohiro@hotmail.com

Assistant Director
Tasha Axam, DVM
St. Francis Veterinary Specialists
625 Dekalb Industrial Way, Ste. 500
Decatur, GA 30033
Work: (404) 924-2000
Cell: (404) 444-6376
Fax: (404) 974-2006
Email: vetaxam@aol.com

District 5

Director
Jennifer Pittman, DVM
Georgia Veterinary Specialists
455 Abernathy Rd., NE
Atlanta, GA 30328
Work: (404) 459-0903
Email: jennifer.pittman@bluepearl.com

Assistant Director
Stephen Tkac, DVM
Bridge Park Animal Hospital
11105 State Bridge Road (Suite 100)
Johns Creek, GA 30022
Work:  (770) 569-5799
Email: stephen.tkac@gmail.com

District 6

Director
Sherri Ray, DVM
Fayetteville Animal Hospital
1145 Highway 54 East
Fayetteville, GA 30214
Work:  (770) 461-4211
Email:  ronrayjr@comcast.net

Assistant Director position is OPEN!

Contact Susan Blevins for information on applying!

District 7

Director
John Tarabula, DVM
Animal Medical and Surgical Center
9100 Knox Bridge Hwy
Canton, GA 30114
Work: (770) 479-0111
Fax: (770) 479-4960
Email: jtarabula@windstream.net

Assistant Director
Paul Dutcher Jr., DVM
Banfield Pet Hospital
407 Treetop Circle
Canton, GA 30115
Email:  dutcherp@gmail.com

District 8

Director
Jill Lancaster, DVM
Plantation Centre Animal Hospital
6411 Peake Road
Macon, GA 31210
Work: (478) 474-3616
Fax: (478) 477-7126
Email: drjill62@yahoo.com

Assistant Director
Brandon Pinson, DVM
Animal Medical Clinic of Forsyth
60 South Jackson St
Forsyth, GA 31029
Work: (478) 994-4986
Fax: (478) 994-2658
Email: brandonspinson@gmail.com

District 9

Director
Rachel Eddleman, DVM
Mount Yonah Animal Hospital
515 W. Kytle St.
Cleveland, GA 30528
Work: (706) 499-1676
Fax: 888-730-6938
Email: eddlemandvm@gmail.com

Assistant Director
Elena Behnke, DVM
Elanco Animal Health
33 Sweetgum Street
Talmo, GA 30545
Work: (678) 343-3325
Cell: (770) 776-9973
Email: elena.l.benke@aphis.usda.gov

District 10

Director
Ira Roth, DVM
University of Georgia College of Veterinary Medicine
Athens, GA 30602
Work: (229) 894-2094
Fax: (229) 888-7183
Email: igroth@uga.edu

Assistant Director
Beth Yash, DVM
Barber Creek Veterinary Hospital
1471 Epps Bridge Road
Watkinsville, GA 30677
Work: (706) 549-7387
Fax: (706) 549-4821
Email: bethyashdvm@gmail.com

District 11

Director
Justin Toth, DVM
Dallas Highway Animal Hospital
5067 Dallas Hwy
Powder Springs, GA 30127
Work:  (770) 419-8086
Email: drtoth@dhah.org

Assistant Director
Todd Lavender, DVM
VCA Animal Hospitals
4040 Thessa Cove
Roswell, GA 30075
Work:  (678)333-3531
Fax:  (310)979-5375
Email: todd.lavender@vcahospitals.com

District 12

Director
Keith Curcio, DVM, DACVS
North GA Veterinary Specialists
1328 Buford Hwy., Bldg. 200
Buford, GA 30518
Work: (678) 835-3300
Fax: (678) 835-3301
Email: kcurcio@ngvetspecialists.com

Assistant Director
Jonathan Bentley, DVM
Sugar Hill Animal Hospital
5305 Hwy 20
Sugar Hill, GA 30518
Work:  (770) 271-7777
Email:  drbentley8@gmail.com

Ex Officio

AVMA Delegate
Seyedmehdi Mobini, DVM
Ft. Valley State University
1005 State University Dr.
Ft. Valley, GA 31030
Work: (478) 825-6424
Fax: (478) 827-3023
Email: mobinis@fvsu.edu

President, State Board of Veterinary Medicine
Larry Corry, DVM
Hog Mountain Animal Hospital
2885 Hog Mountain Rd.
Dacula, GA 30019
Work: (770) 979-6015
Fax: (770) 614-9944
Email: lrcorry@aol.com

Dean, UGA College of Veterinary Medicine
Lisa K. Nolan, DVM, MS, PhD
University of Georgia
College of Veterinary Medicine
Athens, GA 30602
Work: (706) 542-3461
Fax: (706) 542-8254
Email: Coming soon!

GVMA Executive Director
Susan Blevins, CAE, IOM
Georgia Veterinary Medical Association
2200 Century Parkway, Ste. 725
Atlanta, GA 30345
Work: (678) 309-1135
Fax: (678) 309-3361
Email: Susan@gvma.net

AVMA Alternate Delegate (non-voting)
Mike Zager, DVM
Ocoee Animal Hospital
88 All Creatures Place
Blue Ridge, GA 30513
Work: (706) 632-7387
Fax: (706) 632-7807
Email: ocoeeanimalhospital1@tds.net

State Veterinarian of Georgia
Robert Cobb, DVM
GA Department of Agriculture
19 M.L.King Drive Room 106
Atlanta, GA 30334
Work: (404) 656-3671
Fax: (404) 657-1357
Email: Robert.Cobb@agr.state.ga.us

Veterinarian in Charge APHIS
Cristopher Young, DVM
USDA APHIS Veterinary Services
1498 Klondike Rd. Ste. 200
Conyers, GA 30094
Work: (770-761-5420
Fax: (770) 483-9000
Email: Cristopher.A.Young@aphis.usda.gov

Officers

President
Sarah Wheat, DVM
South Atlanta Veterinary Specialty & Emergency
1090 GA-54
Fayetteville, GA 30214
Work: 770-460-8166
Email: petdoc13@bellsouth.net

President Elect
Keri Riddick, DVM
Benning Animal Hospital
2047 Fort Benning Rd
Columbus, GA 31904
Work: 706-689-6240
Email: drriddick@benninganimalhospital.com

Immediate Past President
Laura J. Smallwood, DVM, Dipl. ACVIM
Saint Francis Veterinary Specialists & Emergency
625 Dekalb Industrial Way, Ste. 500
Decatur, GA 30033-5990
Work: 404-924-2000
Email: lsmallwood@sfvs.com

Treasurer
Michael (Duffy) Jones, DVM
Peachtree Hills Animal Hospital
3106 Early Street NW
Atlanta, GA 30305
Work: 404-812-9880
Email: djones@peachtreehillsvet.com

Office Staff

Executive Director
Susan Blevins, CAE, IOM
Work: (678) 309-1135
Email: Susan@gvma.net

Associate Director
Scott Piper, CAE
Work: (678) 309-3272
Email: Scott@gvma.net

Director of Veterinary Services
Wendy Cuevas-Espelid, BVSc, MPH, DACVPM
Work: (678) 389.3474
Email: Wendy@gvma.net

Membership Strategy & Communications Manager
Lindsay Corley
Work: (678) 309-3213
Email: Lindsay@gvma.net

Meetings & Membership Coordinator
Billie Scroggs
Work: (678) 244-0004
Email: Billie@gvma.net

Administrative Assistant
Linda Tramel
Email: Linda@gvma.net

X