Continuing education requirements for Georgia veterinarians

Veterinarians must obtain 30 credit hours of Board-approved continuing education every two years (each “renewal period” falls in even-numbered years) to maintain an active license to practice in Georgia.

As of Jan. 1, 2009, two of the 30 hours per renewal period must be acquired in Georgia laws, rules and professionalism. At least one of those hours must be in-person.

You must keep a record of credit hours and proof of attendance for three years.

Blanket approval is given to:

  • GVMA and any other state, national, or international veterinary association meeting
  • USDA and GA Dept of Agriculture sponsored programs
  • meetings of board certified specialties recognized by the AVMA
  • classes and programs sponsored by an accredited veterinary school/college
  • all AAVSB RACE approved programs
  • any GVMA constituent association program
  • any AAHA program
  • any US Animal Health Association or Southern Animal Health Association programs
  • any course approved by another state board

Approval is given to:

  • veterinary audio review (up to 3 hours)
  • journal studies with follow-up testing (up to 3 hours)
  • interactive computer courses with follow-up testing (up to 15 hours)
  • hospital management (up to 5 hours)
  • any meeting (up to 20 hours)
  • any program (up to 12 hours per day)

Not approved for credit:

  • Welcoming remarks
  • Business sessions
  • Unstructured demonstrations
  • Degree programs

For detailed information, download the State Board rules or continuing education or visit the Georgia Board of Veterinarians website.