20 Jul Recent Grad License Renewal (yes, it’s different!)
Each veterinarian licensed to practice in the State of Georgia must obtain 30 hours of State Board approved continuing education every two years for license renewal. However, the rules are different for recent graduates.
- The official State Board rule is “A veterinarian licensed during the first year of a biennium must obtain 15 hours of continuing education and is not required to meet the two hour requirement in Georgia laws, rules and professionalism.”
- This means that veterinarians who graduated in 2017 only have to complete 15 hours to renew their license at the end of this year. The two-hour LEAP requirement is also waived but 2017 grads are still strongly encouragement to attend (and it’s free for GVMA members).
- The official State Board Rule is “A veterinarian licensed during the second year of a biennium is exempt from obtaining continuing education for that renewal period.”
- This means that 2018 do not have complete any CE to obtain renew their license.
All veterinary and veterinary technician licenses, regardless of when they were issued, must be renewed by December 31st of this year.
The GVMA offers additional resources for recent grads including an 80-page Recent Grad Handbook (it’s free)! The handbook includes information on obtaining a license, prescribing controlled substances, and Georgia continuing education requirements.